News Post

The Top 13
The Top 13
mkazan

Stop by the library to check out our most popular checkouts!




Here are the Top 13 most frequently circulated books from this school year (in alphabetical order):

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
The story of a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.

Recommended for: Grades 9+

Amal Unbound by Aisha Saeed
In Pakistan, Amal holds onto her dream of being a teacher even after becoming an indentured servant to pay off her family's debt to the wealthy and corrupt Khan family.

Recommended for: Grades 6+

Becoming by Michelle Obama
In her memoir, a work of deep reflection and mesmerizing storytelling, Michelle Obama invites readers into her world, chronicling the experiences that have shaped her – from her childhood on the South Side of Chicago to her years as an executive balancing the demands of motherhood and work, to her time spent at the world's most famous address.

Recommended for: Grades 9+

Dear Mrs. Bird by A.J. Pearce
A debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertently becomes a secret advice columnist. . . . For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

Recommended for: Grades 9+

Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover
A memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University.

Recommended for: Grades 9+

Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes
After seventh-grader Jerome is shot by a white police officer, he observes the aftermath of his death and meets the ghosts of other fallen black boys including historical figure Emmett Till.

Recommended for: Grades 6+

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.

Recommended for: Grades 9+

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty
A lightning strike made Lucy, twelve, a math genius but, after years of homeschooling, her grandmother enrolls her in middle school and she learns that life is more than numbers.

Recommended for: Grades 6+

The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani
Shy twelve-year-old Nisha, forced to flee her home with her Hindu family during the 1947 partition of India, tries to find her voice and make sense of the world falling apart around her by writing to her deceased Muslim mother in the pages of her diary.

Recommended for: Grades 6+

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo
Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

Recommended for: Grades 8+

The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang
Prince Sebastian is looking for a bride – or rather, his parents are looking for one for him. Sebastian is too busy hiding his secret life from everyone. At night he puts on daring dresses and takes Paris by storm as the fabulous Lady Crystallia – the hottest fashion icon in the world capital of fashion! Sebastian's secret weapon (and best friend) is the brilliant dressmaker Frances – one of only two people who know the truth: sometimes this boy wears dresses. But Frances dreams of greatness, and being someone's secret weapon means being a secret. Forever.

Recommended for: Grades 6+

Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratz
Based on the life of Jack Gruener, this book relates his story of survival from the Nazi occupation of Krakow, when he was eleven, through a succession of concentration camps, to the final liberation of Dachau.

Recommended for: Grades 6+

Thunderhead by Neal Shusterman
Rowan and Citra take opposite stances on the morality of the Scythedom, putting them at odds, and the Thunderhead is not pleased.

Recommended for: Grades 7+

Quotes provided by the publisher