News Post

HM Alumni Council Shares Update Regarding Alumni Award for Distinguished Achievement Petition

Dear Horace Mann School Community,

As you may have seen, there is a petition circulating regarding the Horace Mann School Alumni Association Award for Distinguished Achievement presented in 2011 to U.S. Attorney General William Barr '67. We wanted to share an update regarding actions we are taking to respond to this petition and the broader issues it has raised.

The Alumni Council has established a special committee to review the petition request and to evaluate the Alumni Association Award for Distinguished Achievement more broadly. Among other things, we are examining: the current candidate selection criteria, the topic of rescission, precedent established by other academic and non-profit organizations, and community feedback. In addition, we have invited the founders of the petition to virtually meet with us to share any additional thoughts and to be a part of our ongoing conversation. We will continue to communicate updates moving forward.

The Alumni Council has also received emails from several of our fellow community members, reflecting a range of passionate opinions about this important discussion. Thank you for taking the time to share your perspectives with us. We hear you and we appreciate the obvious care and concern our community has not only for Horace Mann School, but also for the bigger and vital issues facing society today. Please know that we continue to welcome all feedback relating to this and other matters. Feel free to contact the Alumni Council at:

Several community members have also asked how to nominate an alumnus or alumna for consideration for this award. The Council is always looking to expand the list of nominees and is very appreciative of all community feedback about potential candidates. If you know of someone who should be considered for the Distinguished Alumni award, please send recommendations to the Alumni Council at


The Horace Mann Alumni Council,

Alumni Association Award for Distinguished Achievement Special Committee